Thursday, September 9, 2010

Sorry, I've been out of commission...

Well, in a nut shell, We've been SICK!!!!...

It started Tuesday night and Kenny and I both wake up to a strange sound in the infant monitor. Kenny identifies the sound before me (how odd is that since he normally doesnt even budge during the night) and he yells..."She's choking, Amy she's choking." I jump up and go to Ellie's room (note...Kenny NEVER got out of the bed, he just told me! What the?!?!) to find my poor baby girl covered in her own vomit. I call Kenny over the monitor to come help. He forces himself out of the bed and comes into her room to help overhaul the place.

I get Ellie out of her bed and into the bath, tell Kenny to strip the bed while I bathe Ellie. She's screaming the entire time she's in the tub. She's freezing due to her fever and she's wet from the bath and there's throw-up imbedded in her hair that I just can't seem to get out! Kenny Strips the bed and hands it to me to deal with, so I give him Ellie after I pull her from the tub so he can dress her. I deal with the mess of sheets and clothes and start the wash. We take Ellie back to bed with us to sleep the rest of the night.

1 hour later...

I awake to the now familiar sound and move quickly. I get Ellie in a place that she does not cover my bed with her "contents". She only gets my pillow case. I am now cleaning again...

We decide to keep her in the livingroom for a while so that if she gets sick again it wont cover our bed. I'm in one recliner and Kenny in the other (I told him he could go to bed but he didn't) and Ellie in my lap. I tried to get her to lay still but with the TV on she didnt want to settle down and rest. So after an hour and a half of struggling with her and since she hadn't gotten sick again, I get Kenny and we all pile back into the bed as Kenny complains that "she's just going to get sick again..."

For the next hour or so I struggle with Ellie to lay down and go back to sleep...FINALLY....Rest....

BEEP, BEEP, BEEP, BEEP...You gotta be Kidding me, I just closed my eyes!!

Kenny climbs out of bed and tells me it's time to get up. I instantly decide that "Ellie" can't make it to Daycare she's too sick. (Not to mention I'm not going to make it through school today either!!) I call a dear friend of mine who's my normal substitute and she is available to sub for me. I lay back down to rest.

7:00 am...This shrill alarm is going off in my apartment. I get up to check it out and not only is our smoke alarm going off, but the entire building's smoke alarms are going off. So I quickly dress and get Ellie and we head out with cell phone in hand to call and see what's going on. I get in touch with the office people and no one knows anything but they will send maintenance. BTW...there is no smoke ANYWHERE!! The alarms stop and Ellie and I reenter our home, but the damage is done...Ellie is WIDE AWAKE...and I am a walking zombie.

Ellie never misses a beat on Wednesday...she plays hard all day like nothing ever happened to disrupt her night. I on the other hand am not so lucky...I shuffle around the livingroom thanking God for creating the genious that created Mickey Mouse so my child would sit still for thirty minutes to allow me to rest a moment!

Thank God for nap time....for BOTH of us!!

That night Kenny and I lay in bed a pretty long day and he says..."Well atleast it was Hayden Week. If this were going to happen, she picked a good week." What?!?!...Coach's

This moment is brought to you by the Crazy Life of a Coach's Wife.

No comments:

Post a Comment