So it's Thursday afternoon and I am headed home from school and I am beginning to feel a bit queezy... I think I may have gotten what Ellie had only 2 nights before. I figure I'm pretty prepared for it, she was only sick one night and I was elbow deep in it cleaning her up so it only makes sense that I would catch it. And as Kenny so eloquently stated..."at least it's Hayden week." (BTW....I want to interject...Hayden is a good developing program they are just new to this level of play and are doing a great job of building their program!! Very Proud of what all they have accomplished)
So I don't get physically sick, but I stay queezy all night and I run a fever of 100.4. I stay cold and achy and under a set of covers. I wake up Friday morning and I am not feeling great, but I don't feel bad and no fever. Ok. Off to school it is...
As I drive to school, I begin to feel worse and worse and worse. By the time I get there I am freezing cold and exhausted. I enter the building and I am thankful that the building is not as cold as it usually is (and the temperature that I normally LOVE). As I am walking through the halls toward my classroom I come across a teacher that is just-a-gripin'. She stops me to discuss how hot her classroom is, and can you believe the air is out in this whole school building...
What?!?!...I'm chilled....I can't still be sick...
So I make my way to the nurse and my temp is on the rise. I feel like death until about 1:30 and I catch a second wind. My fever breaks and I am feeling pretty good considering. I was planning on not going to the game, but now I might just make it.
I get Ellie from Daycare and we go get dinner for her and head towards Hayden. I'm not feeling great, but I am excited about he best Boiled Peanuts in town!! Their Boosters make them for every game and I buy them everytime we are down there. But as the night wears on my body feels worse and worse and worse. Ellie and I have to take a potty break for her and we dont go back up into the stands because with so many people it is just to hot. We find a friend ("Uncle" Greg) and visit with him. He begins feeding Ellie his food, and of course Ellie is not to bashful to eat it! He gets amazed that she loves boiled peanuts and she's devouring them one after another!! It's pretty funny to watch his reaction, but as this is going on I come to the conclusion that I am not going to make it through the game. We pack up and head home at the end of half time. We see Kenny coming out of the locker rooms and let him know that we wont be there at the end of the game and we go home.
In my 12 years of being a Coach's wife I have NEVER left a game early....this was a first for me...I felt AWFUL!
Saturday I slept in, Kenny got up with Ellie. When I emerged from the bed it was obvious I was sick. I stayed under a blanket all day and didn't eat a thing. However it was the wierdest of sicknesses...I was queezy but never threw-up, I had stomach virus let's say "symptoms" but my body ached like I had the flu, and I ran a fever of almost 101. Our school nurse thinks I had both viruses at the same time. By Saturday night Kenny needed to get started on the next weeks opponent films and planning...
It's now WALKER WEEK! They are not only a region game, but they are also a big rival of ours...
Kenny asks if I'll be ok if he runs up to the school to get started. I look at the clock and it is about 2 hours before Ellie's bedtime so I say I'll be fine. Those were the longest two hours...
Sunday I wake up and feel much better (I think) and decide that the weekend it to beautiful to spend the whole thing cooped up in the apartment so I'm determined to take Ellie to the Zoo for a few hours. My plan is to only spend a little bit of time there and spend some time in the sun then back home. But allas it doesnt go so smoothly. We meet family up there and everyone gets there at different times and we end up closing the place down. I got way to0 hot and did way too much and by the time I finally got home it was Ellie's bedtime and my fever was back!
Monday I could not get my feet back underneath me. Fatigue! Extreme Dehydration! It was rough. Although, it was a nice day. Kenny worked in the morning and was home by 3ish. We went and got some BBQ (I couldnt eat any of it...)and enjoyed the afternoon.
Tuesday we were up and back to school. I was still very sluggish and queezy but on the mend. I would actually say that Wednesday was the first day in a week that I felt back to normal...
...but wait for it....
"I don't feel so good" says Kenny
Never say "at least it's _____________ week."
Do you think he has jinxed himself???
Yes folks...it looks like my pitiful husband is getting sick right in the middle of WALKER WEEK!! I told him this morning to get to a doctor today and get a sub for tomorrow so he could get some rest before tomorrow nights big game.
This moment was brought to you by the Crazy Life of a Coach's Wife...
No comments:
Post a Comment