Saturday, August 28, 2010

Week 1...


Well we played our first game of the year and came out of it with a victory!!! As my husband says..."an ugly W is still a W"... so we will take it. From what little bit I actually got to watch (thanks to my active 2 year old) it looked like we need some work in some spots, but hopefully they will be able to iron out these kinks in the next few weeks.


Kenny went into this game a bit worried. Our opponent was very athletic team and could pose a threat at any time. Our D stepped up and controlled their Offense, and our O made plays when we needed them too (mostly thanks to our RB). Great job guys!! We still have a lot of work to do, but we are proud of you!!


As for the poor people sitting around Ellie and I....I am SOOOOOOO SORRY!!! She wasn't bad by any means, but we got there late. You see that 1.5 hour distance from Kenny's school plus the 1 hour commute from Kenny's school to the game site created quite a distance for us to travel. So we asked a friend to save us a seat, that way I would not have to worry about finding a seat when we got there. I knew we would not arrive until close to kick off.


So we arrive and I have to change Ellie out of her dirty clothes from daycare and dinner splatter into something clean. Shorts and a football shirt it is! I grab my bleacher seat and Ellie's bag and Ellie and we begin our walk to this tiny speck of a thing that I can see way off in the distance. Do you know how far it is when the field appears small when walking that way??? Well let me tell you....IT'S FAR!!!! Ellie was pitching a fit that she didn't want to walk, so part of the way I am loaded up with all our FB gear AND Ellie is perched on my hip. Can you imagine what I must have looked like??? I finally get into the game, we watch the coolest thing....They have parachuters come in and drop onto the field with the carrying the flags for the national anthem. Then it's off to the potty for Ellie. We finally make it to the stands right before kickoff. The stadium is PACKED!! We squeeze through the crowd to the center of the section where Amy has saved our seats....(BTW...Amy if you reading the seats were great, but babies work best on the isle especially if they have to leave 100 times for potty breaks!! LOL). To all the people I had to step over several times to get to my seats, I'm sorry if I hit you with my seat, bag, or baby...I really didn't mean too!! Ahhh...relief....we are seated and the game is starting.


Ellie is doing great, then half way through the second quarter she says it..."potty mommy" and we are up again. We have to squeeze our way down the isle stepping all over the poor people sitting around us and head to the potty. As we are leaving the restroom I see the truck and trailer that contains all our video equipment and I have the most brilliant of ideas...The truck is in the endzone area and I can see the game. I place Ellie in the back of the truck to play and Voila...instant Pack-n-Play!!! Ellie plays in the back of the truck for half quarter then her friend Rex comes by, we take another potty break then they both climbs in the back of the truck and play. Now Rex's mommy and I both get a break...sort of anyway. LOL! The two of them play in the back of the truck until half time is almost over and Ellie begins begging for something to drink. We head back to our seats, climbing over all the people along the way. When we get there Ellie so thirsty from playing in the heat of the night that she downs her entire drink!! Poor thing, mommy was neglecting her needs!!


On our way to our seat we added another friend...Erin. She came up after halftime to give Ellie her birthday gift, (We love it btw!) but she didn't stay long...


So Ellie stays seated for a very short time and then she wants another activity...the game is just not doing it for her. HAHA!! So I break out the coloring book. This buys me some time... She loves to color and I am able to watch some of the game. Then a little into the 3rd quarter she says it again..."potty mommy"...and we're off again. (Those poor people sitting around us.) When we come back to the stadium we just sit in the stairway...It's close to the end of the game anyway...When the stands start to clear I get our stuff and we head out. We meet daddy on the field and Ellie gets to run for a minute before it is time to head to the locker area. We wait for the team to load up before we leave to head back to the school. Amy was nice enough to ride with me back to the school since I was alone and tired. She did a great job keeping me awake, but Ellie passed out cold as a cucumber!!


After we saw daddy at the school and then headed home from there it was 1:15 am when we got home...Ellie had woken back up and did not want to go to sleep, but I was exhausted. I battled with her for a while and then finally....peace and quiet. It did not take long for me to fall asleep once my head hit the pillow! Then a few minutes later I hear Ellie awake in her room calling for me. I lay there thinking she will go back to sleep but she doesn't. I open my eyes and find that it's morning and she ready to go. I had my 8:30 wake up call....I guess I can be thankful that it wasn't 6:30...


This Welcome to My World moment was brought to you by the Crazy Life of a Coach's wife

No comments:

Post a Comment