Sunday, September 19, 2010

Puppies Puppies everywhere!!!


Last weekend we went to a friend's house to watch the Bama game and found out that their Lab had puppies! 9 puppies to be exact!! They were 5 weeks old, the perfect age for Ellie to play with them....and did she ever!!! After we left Mark and Katrina's home all Ellie could talk about was puppies and how she wanted a puppy. Everything was puppy!! We live in a pet free apartment right now, so a puppy is out of the question, but yes we are going to HAVE to get a puppy when we can.


Those puppies were so funny as she chased them around the garage and yard, as she tried to feed them puppy chow, and mostly as she tried to pick them up by their legs, tummy, and most hysterically their heads!!! LOL


Needless to say, Ellie LOVES PUPPIES!!


This Welcome to my world moment is brought to you by the crazy life of a coach's wife!!

Are we getting better yet.....???

Ok....So Ellie got sick and I got sick (Hayden game), I stay sick through the first of the next week and Kenny starts feeling cruddy, and Ellie says her ear hurts...yes infection (Walker Week & Big rival). Ellie on antibiotice and Kenny gets a full fledged sickness (West Point Week). Ellie is still on antibiotics, still coughing her poor head off and snotty. Kenny is still really fatigued and coughing his head off (starting Fort Payne Week)! So can someone please tell me when my family will be back to "normal"?? I feel like someone has been sick of an eternity!!

Well Ellie had a great accomplishment this week...no "accidents" at daycare. She is doing so well with her potty training....Now dropping her off at Daycare in the morning is another challenge in itself. She use to be so easy...I would say lets go and she would run to the door, but her teacher then adored her and spoiled her rotten! Now she has moved "up" and her new teacher is more structured (which is good!) but Ellie is NOT excited about going!! She refuses to get out of her chair in the morning and go to the car and often pitches a fit when I leave. It makes leaving her so hard, and add on to that she's been sick too and I am lucky to make it to work on time!!! Every morning is an event!! Once she is there and I am gone everything is good though. It's not like she crys all day....at least I know that and that helps!

Kenny has been sick all week and you know guys, they are such babies when they are sick!!! I think mine is the biggest baby of them all when he gets sick. Although I can sympathize with the fatigue part of his sickness since I had it! It just makes life so difficult when your worn out from your day and you have two sick "babies" to take care of when you get home in addition to the laundry, picking up the place, and cooking.

In addition to being sick, Kenny has been dealing with the first lose to Rival and Region team Walker since her started coaching at Cullman. It was a rough lose for him. The community was upset, the players were upset, and most of all the coaches were upset. Kenny knew it would be a difficult game with the offensive side of the ball since they has lost so many great players last year. The younger kids had not clicked yet. The lose instigated some changes in this team. Hopefully it will help them to appreciate every win and help change the direction of the season. The coaches work so hard each week and the players have to "click" I think after watching this weeks game that may have happened this week!

At West Point we came away with a HUGE win!!! Our offense was clicking and our defense was hitting hard. Our special teams still needs some work, but over all we looked pretty good. Still made some mistakes, but much improved from the first three games! Kenny actually went on the field at half time (normally he's in the pressbox). Howeve that move made my night MUCH more difficult...

We have a VERY ACTIVE little girl and when she saw her daddy on the field all she wanted was to be running on that field with him!!! She screamed at him to get his attention from the stands. She waived at him to get his attention. She yelled for him to come get her. She demanded from me to go. At 4 minutes left in the 3rd quarter I gave up. I packed everything up and we went down to the track. It had a fence separating it from the field and she could run. In the begining she stayed right where he was...then she eventually just started running and playing on the track. That was the best thing I did all night....just let her run. By the ending of the 4th quarter I knew she needed to go potty, but she was adamant that she didn't and I knew if I picked her up and took her, she would pitch a fit up the entire bleachers. So I rolled the dice to see if she would make it to the end of the game. At 3 minutes till the end of the game I lost that bet! She had an accident on the track of the football field. I just got her together, took her to the film truck, and our wonderful film guy John and his wife Sharon let me change her in the trailor. We were in and out before the 1 minute mark...noone was the wiser (except for the fact her shorts went from white to pink! LOL). After the game Ellie would not let anyone spend time with Kenny. She took his hand and would pull him away from everyone who wanted to talk to him! She was NOT going to SHARE!!! HAHAHA!! She so misses him through out the week! She is often in bed before he gets home...

Overall a victory improves your week and weekend so much!!

This Welcome to My World Moment is brought to you by the Crazy Life of a Coach's Wife!

Saturday, September 18, 2010

Walker Loss

I know this is late getting up but between work and putting in my inventory for school and Kenny being sick, I just haven't had time to post.

Yes, you read that right....all that talk about "atleast it's Hayden week" came back to bite him in the booty! He got sick on Walker week!!! Not saying that is why they lost or anything...just ironic!

Well the game was ugly, so many mistakes and Walker went hard the whole game. But when you lose because of mistakes the coaches are much more upset than otherwise. This means that the coach's wives have much rougher weekends!! MAN ARE THEY CRANKY!!!

I just want to send out a HUGE Thank You to Katrina and Mark (our friends and also a coach elsewhere). They made my weekend MUCH better. They invited us to watch the Alabama game at their house. Getting together with them is always fun. We have good food and great fun!

Their lab had just had puppies 5 weeks ago so Ellie had a blast playing with all 9 (yes 9!) of them. Those puppies didnt stand a chance!! She was picking them up upside down, chasing after them, throwing balls at them to fetch, etc. She had so much fun and she was hysterical to watch!! However, she has not stopped talking about puppies since she laid eyes on them!!!

Thursday, September 9, 2010

I'm sick now....

So it's Thursday afternoon and I am headed home from school and I am beginning to feel a bit queezy... I think I may have gotten what Ellie had only 2 nights before. I figure I'm pretty prepared for it, she was only sick one night and I was elbow deep in it cleaning her up so it only makes sense that I would catch it. And as Kenny so eloquently stated..."at least it's Hayden week." (BTW....I want to interject...Hayden is a good developing program they are just new to this level of play and are doing a great job of building their program!! Very Proud of what all they have accomplished)

So I don't get physically sick, but I stay queezy all night and I run a fever of 100.4. I stay cold and achy and under a set of covers. I wake up Friday morning and I am not feeling great, but I don't feel bad and no fever. Ok. Off to school it is...

As I drive to school, I begin to feel worse and worse and worse. By the time I get there I am freezing cold and exhausted. I enter the building and I am thankful that the building is not as cold as it usually is (and the temperature that I normally LOVE). As I am walking through the halls toward my classroom I come across a teacher that is just-a-gripin'. She stops me to discuss how hot her classroom is, and can you believe the air is out in this whole school building...

What?!?!...I'm chilled....I can't still be sick...

So I make my way to the nurse and my temp is on the rise. I feel like death until about 1:30 and I catch a second wind. My fever breaks and I am feeling pretty good considering. I was planning on not going to the game, but now I might just make it.

I get Ellie from Daycare and we go get dinner for her and head towards Hayden. I'm not feeling great, but I am excited about he best Boiled Peanuts in town!! Their Boosters make them for every game and I buy them everytime we are down there. But as the night wears on my body feels worse and worse and worse. Ellie and I have to take a potty break for her and we dont go back up into the stands because with so many people it is just to hot. We find a friend ("Uncle" Greg) and visit with him. He begins feeding Ellie his food, and of course Ellie is not to bashful to eat it! He gets amazed that she loves boiled peanuts and she's devouring them one after another!! It's pretty funny to watch his reaction, but as this is going on I come to the conclusion that I am not going to make it through the game. We pack up and head home at the end of half time. We see Kenny coming out of the locker rooms and let him know that we wont be there at the end of the game and we go home.

In my 12 years of being a Coach's wife I have NEVER left a game early....this was a first for me...I felt AWFUL!

Saturday I slept in, Kenny got up with Ellie. When I emerged from the bed it was obvious I was sick. I stayed under a blanket all day and didn't eat a thing. However it was the wierdest of sicknesses...I was queezy but never threw-up, I had stomach virus let's say "symptoms" but my body ached like I had the flu, and I ran a fever of almost 101. Our school nurse thinks I had both viruses at the same time. By Saturday night Kenny needed to get started on the next weeks opponent films and planning...

It's now WALKER WEEK! They are not only a region game, but they are also a big rival of ours...

Kenny asks if I'll be ok if he runs up to the school to get started. I look at the clock and it is about 2 hours before Ellie's bedtime so I say I'll be fine. Those were the longest two hours...

Sunday I wake up and feel much better (I think) and decide that the weekend it to beautiful to spend the whole thing cooped up in the apartment so I'm determined to take Ellie to the Zoo for a few hours. My plan is to only spend a little bit of time there and spend some time in the sun then back home. But allas it doesnt go so smoothly. We meet family up there and everyone gets there at different times and we end up closing the place down. I got way to0 hot and did way too much and by the time I finally got home it was Ellie's bedtime and my fever was back!

Monday I could not get my feet back underneath me. Fatigue! Extreme Dehydration! It was rough. Although, it was a nice day. Kenny worked in the morning and was home by 3ish. We went and got some BBQ (I couldnt eat any of it...)and enjoyed the afternoon.

Tuesday we were up and back to school. I was still very sluggish and queezy but on the mend. I would actually say that Wednesday was the first day in a week that I felt back to normal...

...but wait for it....

"I don't feel so good" says Kenny

Never say "at least it's _____________ week."

Do you think he has jinxed himself???

Yes folks...it looks like my pitiful husband is getting sick right in the middle of WALKER WEEK!! I told him this morning to get to a doctor today and get a sub for tomorrow so he could get some rest before tomorrow nights big game.

This moment was brought to you by the Crazy Life of a Coach's Wife...

Sorry, I've been out of commission...

Well, in a nut shell, We've been SICK!!!!...

It started Tuesday night and Kenny and I both wake up to a strange sound in the infant monitor. Kenny identifies the sound before me (how odd is that since he normally doesnt even budge during the night) and he yells..."She's choking, Amy she's choking." I jump up and go to Ellie's room (note...Kenny NEVER got out of the bed, he just told me! What the?!?!) to find my poor baby girl covered in her own vomit. I call Kenny over the monitor to come help. He forces himself out of the bed and comes into her room to help overhaul the place.

I get Ellie out of her bed and into the bath, tell Kenny to strip the bed while I bathe Ellie. She's screaming the entire time she's in the tub. She's freezing due to her fever and she's wet from the bath and there's throw-up imbedded in her hair that I just can't seem to get out! Kenny Strips the bed and hands it to me to deal with, so I give him Ellie after I pull her from the tub so he can dress her. I deal with the mess of sheets and clothes and start the wash. We take Ellie back to bed with us to sleep the rest of the night.

1 hour later...

I awake to the now familiar sound and move quickly. I get Ellie in a place that she does not cover my bed with her "contents". She only gets my pillow case. I am now cleaning again...

We decide to keep her in the livingroom for a while so that if she gets sick again it wont cover our bed. I'm in one recliner and Kenny in the other (I told him he could go to bed but he didn't) and Ellie in my lap. I tried to get her to lay still but with the TV on she didnt want to settle down and rest. So after an hour and a half of struggling with her and since she hadn't gotten sick again, I get Kenny and we all pile back into the bed as Kenny complains that "she's just going to get sick again..."

For the next hour or so I struggle with Ellie to lay down and go back to sleep...FINALLY....Rest....

BEEP, BEEP, BEEP, BEEP...You gotta be Kidding me, I just closed my eyes!!

Kenny climbs out of bed and tells me it's time to get up. I instantly decide that "Ellie" can't make it to Daycare she's too sick. (Not to mention I'm not going to make it through school today either!!) I call a dear friend of mine who's my normal substitute and she is available to sub for me. I lay back down to rest.

7:00 am...This shrill alarm is going off in my apartment. I get up to check it out and not only is our smoke alarm going off, but the entire building's smoke alarms are going off. So I quickly dress and get Ellie and we head out with cell phone in hand to call and see what's going on. I get in touch with the office people and no one knows anything but they will send maintenance. BTW...there is no smoke ANYWHERE!! The alarms stop and Ellie and I reenter our home, but the damage is done...Ellie is WIDE AWAKE...and I am a walking zombie.

Ellie never misses a beat on Wednesday...she plays hard all day like nothing ever happened to disrupt her night. I on the other hand am not so lucky...I shuffle around the livingroom thanking God for creating the genious that created Mickey Mouse so my child would sit still for thirty minutes to allow me to rest a moment!

Thank God for nap time....for BOTH of us!!

That night Kenny and I lay in bed a pretty long day and he says..."Well atleast it was Hayden Week. If this were going to happen, she picked a good week." What?!?!...Coach's

This moment is brought to you by the Crazy Life of a Coach's Wife.