Wednesday, January 12, 2011

The Snow of 2011!!!

*

Well if you're not from Alabama you must think we are crazy when you see what we go through when snow is forcast for us. First EVERYONE rushes off to the grocery store to get food incase we get stranded in our homes for days. The milk refrigeraters and the bread isles always end up empty, then we hunker down waiting anxiously for that first snow flake. When it does snow, we act like idiots running out in it and tasting it, dancing in it, screaming with excitement, etc... Then, and it doesn't take much snow for this, when we have to drive in it WE CAN'T!! We have a very wet snow that quickly turns into ice, and ice is not very compatible with car tires. Roads quickly get closed and so do schools! This equals SNOW DAYS!!!
Well this year we have started off with a true snow storm! There were parts of Alabama that received 8 inches of snow in one night! So when they started forcasting that type of snowfall and I knew Kenny was flying out of state the morning before it was to come, I loaded Ellie and myself up and headed to my mom's to weather it out. Where my mom lives we didn't get snow...we got ICE!! ONLY ICE!! That was no fun at all! However we did have a fun time together playing dominos (a game called Mexican Train) and eating fabulous food and snacks like Chili, sweet potato pie, apple cake, fat boys, and more. I truly enjoyed the time spent with my family.

We were out of school Monday and Tuesday due to the Snow and icy conditions. On Tuesday, around 12:00 I headed home in anticipation of returning to school on Wednesday. When I started out the roads were fine, but as I traveled North I realized that the roads were not as good as I thought they were. I became nervous with the road conditions and was very thankful that I had driven Kenny's truck as I shifted it into Auto 4 Wheel Drive. The interstate became very slushy and Icy especially over the bridges and overpasses, but we made it home safe and sound. Not long after we unloaded the truck, we received the phone call saying we were out of school another day.
Wednesday morning we woke up and got Ellie situated and I jumped into the shower, got dressed, dressed Ellie, ate some lunch, packed up so super warm clothes and waited on Kenny to get home. We were going to play in the snow! Kenny's High School still had snow, it's about 45 minutes North of our home. We went there so Ellie could experience several inches of snow.
Kenny go home and we took off towards the snow. The roads were not near as bad as they were the day before. The sun was doing a wonderful job helping the melt the roadways even though the temp was not getting above freezing. We got there and there were still about 4 inches or more of snow on the ground! We were truly excited! We found a large box and broke it down to slide with and a plastic box top that was perfect for Ellie to ride alone and then we hit the snow.

Now let me tell you a little bit about snow. Snow that is three days old is not near as fluffy as fresh snow, especially in the South. The snow has a full layer of ICE over it. You had to almost stomp as you walked to break it. Poor Ellie didn't weigh enough to break the layer of ice and slipped down several times, once her leg flipped behind her and it hurt. Once we all got used to it we were good.
We started with the small hill and Ellie and I on the plastic lid...that didn't work so well. I was a little to heavy for the plastic lid!! HAHA!! Then we used the cardboard...Perfect! We were off!! No pics of that because the Camera was full (and Kenny wasn't happy about that...My Bad). As I worked to delete pics so we could use the camera, Kenny and Ellie took a trip over to the big hill. As I turned around to take pictures, I couldn't find them. Then I see a spec on the horizon...It's Ellie and Kenny ready to slide!

Then Ellie and I went to slide. We climb on the carboard and Kenny gives us a shove. As we are sliding down the hill I see this mound of snow (later we realize someone had formed it into a ramp) at the bottom of the hill. At that moment it was to the right of us but as we slid we were turning towards that mound and also turning backwards. I prepare for the inevitable....We were not only going to hit the snow, but were were going to hit it backwards!! And then we are airborn................splat! HAHA!!


He enjoyed me being splat on the ground and took several of these!! LOL

We rode the hill several more times but those times we made sure we were far away from that snow ramp. Then we moved back over to the small hill so Ellie could ride by herself.
Mommy sending her off by herself for the first time.
Kenny pushed her a bit to hard and laid her out flat. LOL
He got it rollin. Look Ma' No Hands!!

Look at that face......She had a blast!!

We played for about 2 hours before we packed it all up and headed home. It was a good day! Ellie was excited that Daddy was back home after 4 days away and she had a blast playing in the snow! She passed out in the truck on the way back home. We woke her to get an early dinner at 5 Guys and Fries... Yes, I was a good Snow day.

Btw...on the way home I get the call that there is no school on Thursday!! We got a nother snow day coming..

No comments:

Post a Comment